Retirees and Tenure Candidates Celebrated at Southampton School District BOE Meeting

Beginnings and endings were both celebrated at the Southampton School District’s Board Of Education meeting held on June 5th.

  Six teachers were granted tenure while fourteen faculty and staff members were recognized for their years of service as they retire.  Bus matrons Bernice Cowell, Loren Eleazer, Sharon White and Gloria Oliver will be missed from the district’s Transportation Department.  Retiring Food Service staff Kim Armusewicz and Evelyn Simek will be missed by many in the cafeterias.  The Southampton Elementary School bids a happy retirement to teachers Diane Finnegan, Connie Moscicki, and Marilyn Stein with the same sentiments given to Teacher Assistant Kim Yastrzemski, Occupational Therapist Lynn Marino, and Speech Teacher Paul Marino.  Special Education Teacher Denise Bakewicz is retiring from Southampton Intermediate School and Joaquin Mendez is retiring from Southampton High School.

Southampton High School teachers Jill Capalbo, Tanya Cianco and Virginia McGovern were recognized for receiving tenure along with Speech Teacher Lindsey Dargan and Special Education Teacher Jennifer Zollo.  Southampton Intermediate School Social Worker, Betty Reynoso also received tenure that evening.

This post is contributed by a community member. The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Patch Media Corporation. Everyone is welcome to submit a post to Patch. If you'd like to post a blog, go here to get started.

Carol Ingardia June 30, 2012 at 09:35 PM
THats my niece Jilly.congrats. Love Auntie Carol


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »